• German
  • English
 

Bacon und Giacometti

Excessive Lifestyle and a Common Muse

MORE THAN 100 WORKS BY GIACOMETTI AND BACON ARE CURRENTLY PRESENTED SIDE BY SIDE IN THE NINE ROOMS OF THE THEMATICALLY CURATED EXHIBITION OF THE FONDATION BEYELER. SUCH A JUXTAPOSITION REVEALS THE DIFFERENCES BUT ALSO THE SIMILARITIES BETWEEN THE TWO ARTISTS.

Bacon and Gia­co­met­ti shared an unwa­vering belief in the impor­t­ance of the human figu­re throughout their crea­ti­ve lives. They were inten­si­ve­ly con­cer­ned with the role of tra­di­ti­on, for both stu­di­ed, copied and para­phra­sed the old mas­ters. Both were inte­res­ted in the chal­len­ge of two-dimen­sio­nal and three-dimen­sio­nal repre­sen­ta­ti­on of space, inte­gra­ting cage-like struc­tures into their works to iso­la­te the figu­res in their sur­roun­dings. They also dealt with frag­men­ted and defor­med bodies and obses­si­ve­ly tur­ned to por­trai­tu­re and the asso­cia­ted depic­tion of human individuality.

Gra­ham Keen/Portrait Gia­co­met­ti und Bacon/3/LAC/197x300mm

Each of them clai­med to be a ‘rea­list’.

In their artis­tic work, Gia­co­met­ti and Bacon dealt with the same exis­ten­ti­al ques­ti­ons modern peop­le deal with: lone­li­ness and pain, sexua­li­ty and vio­lence, life and death – the needs that come from exis­ting. They also shared a muse, pain­ter Isa­bel Rawst­hor­ne. She was a model to both artists, and some recount she even went to bed with both of them. They inter­pre­ted Rawst­hor­ne in their own indi­vi­du­al way: view­ed from dif­fe­rent distan­ces by Gia­co­met­ti and sta­ged by Bacon as a furious ‘femme fatale’.

The Bri­tish pain­ter and the Swiss sculp­tor got to know each other per­so­nal­ly through their muse in the ear­ly 1960s. In 1965 they’d beco­me so good friends that Bacon visi­ted Gia­co­met­ti at the Tate Gal­le­ry in Lon­don while he was set­ting up his exhi­bi­ti­on the­re. A seri­es of pho­to­graphs by Eng­lish pho­to­gra­pher Gra­ham Keen docu­ments this encoun­ter and shows both artists in a sti­mu­la­ting dia­lo­gue. More than half a cen­tu­ry later, the­se two important artists meet again in the Fon­da­ti­on Beye­ler and the abo­ve-men­tio­ned dou­ble por­trait of Rawst­hor­ne marks the begin­ning of the exhibition.

While the expres­si­ve and obses­si­ve-extro­vert natu­re of Bacon’s por­traits immedia­te­ly cap­ti­va­tes the view­er, Giacometti’s por­traits are cha­rac­te­ri­sed by a restraint that is no less hyp­no­tic: the­se per­sons also illus­tra­te a situa­ti­on that exem­pli­fies coer­ci­on, they seem to embo­dy the pres­su­re the artist exer­ted on his models by for­cing them to sit abso­lute­ly still. This pres­su­re also tur­ned against Gia­co­met­ti, who – cur­sing his sup­po­sed inap­ti­tu­de at pain­ting – began the can­va­ses over and over again until the por­traits were radi­cal­ly redu­ced and extre­me­ly condensed.

Giacometti’s con­ti­nued fail­u­re was part and par­cel of who he was. If he had­n’t felt he was con­stant­ly fai­ling, he might have lacked the impul­se to con­ti­nue. For him, work also seems to have been, to a lar­ge extent, the search for per­so­nal trans­gres­si­on, as if he wan­ted to punish hims­elf for his artis­tic exis­tence. This pro­bab­ly also app­lied to Bacon, even if in his pic­tures the aggres­si­on seems to be direc­ted main­ly outwards.

With Alber­to Gia­co­met­ti and Fran­cis Bacon, the Fon­da­ti­on Beye­ler show­ca­ses two out­stan­ding prot­ago­nists of moder­nism pain­ting until 2 Sep­tem­ber 2018, friends and rivals ali­ke, who­se crea­ti­ve visi­ons have stron­gly influ­en­ced art from the second half of the 20th cen­tu­ry until today.

Exhi­bi­ti­on Bacon-Giacometti
until Sep­tem­ber 2, 2018

Basel­stras­se 77, CH-4125 Rie­hen
www.fondationbeyeler.ch

Ope­ning hours
We are open on all days.
Mon­day to Sunday from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
and Wed­nes­day from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Share Post
Written by

Das Kunstmagazin, das mehr Zeit zum Lesen und mehr Raum zum Schauen beansprucht: ein Gegentrend zu vielen Megatrends. Geeignet für Kunstliebhaber, die tiefer gehen möchten und bereit sind, inspiriert zu werden. Intellektuell anspruchsvolle Inhalte, innovatives Layout und elegantes Design auf höchstem Qualitätsstandard.

Shopping Cart
There are no products in the cart!
Continue Shopping
0

Bacon und Giacometti

Exzessiver Lebenswandel und eine gemeinsame Muse verbinden Bacon und Giacometti

IN DEN NEUN SÄLEN DER THEMATISCH KURATIERTEN AUSSTELLUNG DER FONDATION BEYELER WERDEN DERZEIT ÜBER 100 WERKE VON GIACOMETTI UND BACON NEBENEINANDER PRÄSENTIERT. DADURCH WERDEN DIE UNTERSCHIEDE ABER AUCH GEMEINSAMKEITEN DER BEIDEN KÜNSTLER DEUTLICH.

Bacon und Gia­co­met­ti teil­ten zeit ihres Schaf­fens einen uner­schüt­ter­li­chen Glau­ben an die Bedeu­tung der mensch­li­chen Figur. Inten­siv beschäf­tig­ten sie sich mit der Rol­le der Tra­di­ti­on, denn bei­de stu­dier­ten, kopier­ten und para­phra­sier­ten die alten Meis­ter. Bei­de inter­es­sier­ten sich für die Her­aus­for­de­rung der zwei­di­men­sio­na­len und  drei­di­men­sio­na­len Dar­stel­lung von Raum, wobei sie käfig­ar­ti­ge Gebil­de in ihre Wer­ke inte­grier­ten, um die Figu­ren in ihrer Umge­bung zu iso­lie­ren. Zudem befass­ten sie sich mit dem frag­men­tier­ten und defor­mier­ten Kör­per und wand­ten sich obses­siv dem Por­trät und der damit ver­bun­de­nen Dar­stel­lung mensch­li­cher Indi­vi­dua­li­tät zu.

Gra­ham Keen/Portrait Gia­co­met­ti und Bacon/3/LAC/197x300mm

 Jeder der bei­den rekla­mier­te für sich, ein „Rea­list“ zu sein.

Gia­co­met­ti und Bacon setz­ten sich in ihrem künst­le­ri­schen Schaf­fen mit den­sel­ben exis­ten­ti­el­len Fra­gen des moder­nen Men­schen aus­ein­an­der: Ein­sam­keit und Schmerz, Sexua­li­tät und Gewalt, Leben und Tod – die Nöte des Seins. Außer­dem teil­ten sich die bei­den auch eine Muse und zwar die Male­rin Isa­bel Rawst­hor­ne. Für bei­de Künst­ler stand sie Modell, mit bei­den war sie Erzäh­lun­gen zufol­ge im Bett. Sie inter­pre­tier­ten Rawst­hor­ne auf eigen­tüm­li­che Wei­se: aus unter­schied­li­cher Distanz von Gia­co­met­ti betrach­tet und als furi­en­haf­te „Femme fata­le“ insze­niert bei Bacon.

Der bri­ti­sche Maler und der Schwei­zer Bild­hau­er lern­ten sich Anfang der 1960er Jah­re durch ihre Muse per­sön­lich ken­nen. 1965 waren sie bereits so gut mit­ein­an­der befreun­det, dass Bacon Gia­co­met­ti in der Tate Gal­le­ry in Lon­don besuch­te, wäh­rend die­ser dort sei­ne Aus­stel­lung ein­rich­te­te. Eine Serie von Auf­nah­men des eng­li­schen Foto­gra­fen Gra­ham Keen doku­men­tiert die­se Begeg­nung und zeigt bei­de Künst­ler in einen anre­gen­den Dia­log ver­tieft. Mehr als ein hal­bes Jahr­hun­dert spä­ter tref­fen nun die­se bei­den bedeu­ten­den Künst­ler in der Fon­da­ti­on Beye­ler wie­der auf­ein­an­der, und das erwähn­te Dop­pel­por­trät von Rawst­hor­ne bil­det den Auf­takt der Aus­stel­lung.

Wäh­rend das Expres­si­ve und zwang­haft Extro­ver­tier­te der Dar­stel­lun­gen Bacons den Betrach­ter sofort in ihren Bann zie­hen, kenn­zeich­nen die Por­träts Gia­co­met­tis eine Zurück­hal­tung, die nicht weni­ger hyp­no­ti­sie­rend wirkt: Auch die­se Per­so­nen ver­an­schau­li­chen eine Situa­ti­on, die von Zwang geprägt ist, ihnen scheint der Druck ein­ge­schrie­ben zu sein, den der Künst­ler auf sei­ne Model­le aus­üb­te, indem er sie zu abso­lu­tem Still­sit­zen nötig­te. Die­ser Druck wand­te sich auch gegen Gia­co­met­ti selbst, der – sein ver­meint­li­ches Nicht-Kön­nen ver­flu­chend – die Bil­der immer wie­der von Neu­em begann, bis die Por­träts radi­kal redu­ziert und extrem ver­dich­tet waren.

Das fort­ge­setz­te Schei­tern Gia­co­met­tis war Pro­gramm. Hät­te er nicht stän­dig das Gefühl gehabt zu schei­tern, hät­te ihm womög­lich der Impuls gefehlt wei­ter­zu­ma­chen. Arbei­ten scheint für ihn zu einem guten Teil auch die Suche nach per­sön­li­cher Grenz­über­schrei­tung gewe­sen zu sein, so als habe er sich für sein Künst­ler­da­sein bestra­fen wol­len. Dies traf wohl auch auf Bacon zu, auch wenn sich in des­sen Bil­dern die Aggres­si­on vor allem nach außen zu rich­ten scheint.

Beitrag teilen
geschrieben von

Das Kunstmagazin, das mehr Zeit zum Lesen und mehr Raum zum Schauen beansprucht: ein Gegentrend zu vielen Megatrends. Geeignet für Kunstliebhaber, die tiefer gehen möchten und bereit sind, inspiriert zu werden. Intellektuell anspruchsvolle Inhalte, innovatives Layout und elegantes Design auf höchstem Qualitätsstandard.

Einkaufswagen
Kein Magazin im Einkaufswagen.
Summe
0,00 
Weiter einkaufen
0